Skip to content

Disaster in Cambodia

October 26, 2010

Last week there was terrible flooding in Cambodia and with Typhoon Magi heading toward Cambodia we were fearing the worst.  After much prayer (and a high pressure system) the typhoon pounced on China and Taiwan (sorry about that).  I breathed a sigh of relief assuming we would be ok.  I went on with my comfortable life.

A week had passed so I figured all would be dry in Northern Cambodia.  I was wrong.  There is not much need for words.  Just view the pictures below:

Dozens of schools which educate tens of thousands of children are underwater. This is a primary school.

Kids playing in front of Banteay Meanchey province's ONLY hospital (its flooded).

Another flooded school which educates nearly 1,000 children

Thousands of Displaced People in their Temporary Shelters with all they own.

An infant boy playing in the middle of a flooded highway.

The ONLY prison in Banteay Meanchey (700 inmates are inside, and the cells have 3 feet of water in them.)

Meanchey University is also flooded with more than 2,000 students unable to attend class.

The District Police Office is also Flooded (still at work though)

Many Schools, even though they are flooded, are still in session. The children just have to make do.

Even little girls have no one to help them out of the mud.

Oddly enough, today is my birthday.  I wanted to do something special on my birthday until I saw this.  One of my friends wished me a blessed birthday and prayed that God would grant me 1,000 wishes.  My 1,000 wishes are all for the children of Banteay Meanchey province in Northern Cambodia.

On my birthday I cried.  I am sure I will never forget it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 5:25 am

    I complain to much

Leave a Reply

